Harrison Modes, The

Artikelnr: TSPCE22-016

Medium-Advanced Concert Percussion


by Christopher Whyte

9 players


Crotales (both octaves)


2 vibraphones

2 marimbas — (1) low A, (1) 5-octave

Drums — bongos, doumbek, conga (low), djembe, concert bass drum

Gongs & cymbals — opera gong, 2 suspended cymbals (high/low), sizzle cymbal, tam-tam

Accessories — Jal Tarang (ceramic bowls tuned with water), temple blocks, high-pitched metal, maracas

In The Harrison Modes, Chistopher Whyte pays homage to visionary composer Lou Harrison by way of four pentatonic modes on which Harrison heavily relied in his own compositions. These four modes appear thoughout The Harrison Modes as landmarks which delineate the four main sections of the piece.

In the spirit of Harrison’s fearlessness, Whyte explores a wide expanse of tonal varieties in standard percussion instruments, both tonal and unpitched. Use of varied implements, fingers, bows, and tuned ceramic bowls harken to sounds often found in the Harrison oeuvre. While contemporary in character, this medium-advanced ensemble for 9 players will surely captivate any audience while giving players a rich musical vehicle in which to perform.

The Harrison Modes ships as a printed, professionally bound score, and includes individual parts in PDF format for printing or tablet viewing.

Beoordelingen (0)
Harrison Modes, The heeft nog geen reviews. Deel uw product ervaring en plaats een review.
Harrison Modes, The

Aanbevolen artikelen:

Laatst bekeken items