Item No.: TSPCE21-010

Medium/Advanced Percussion Quartet

Article numbers

by Adam Bruce

4 players

Instrumentation: Concert bass drum (or 2 concert BDs, OR 2 or 4 kick drums, depending on setup choice), 2 bongos, 2 congas, 2 concert toms, propane tank, opera gong, 2 sets of hi-hats, 2 Zil-Bels (or bell plates or metal pipes)

Hivemind by Adam Bruce is a two-movement quartet based on the idea that each player must have a perfectly matched sense of time, touch, and rhythmic interpretation, much like a marching bass drum line. The title is derived from the idea that players will need to share a collective consciousness, similar to how bees and ants share a “hivemind.”

The first movement, “Drone” plays on a rhythmic theme that is shared, displaced, and manipulated from player to player. The second movement, “Frenzy” is a fast-paced display of virtuosic timing. It also relies on the different tones that clicking sticks together can create based on the amount of pressure in one’s grip.

While Hivemind is not for the faint of heart, when performed well, it’s sure to leave audiences mesmerized and engaged!

This piece comes as a professionally printed and bound score and includes individual parts in PDF format for printing or for tablet viewing.

Reviews (0)
Hivemind does not have any reviews yet. Share your experiences and post a review.

Matching Products For:

Alternative Products For:

Last viewed items